Class Schedule

Check out the 2018–2019 class schedule below. The 2019–2020 class schedule will be posted before the application period opens so that interested applicants can make sure they’re available for each class before applying.

 
IMG_9482.JPG
 
 
 

August

Session: Welcome to School Board School
Thursday, 8/2/18, 5:00–7:00PM at People's Liberty

Field Trip: Superintendent’s Beginning of Year Address
Friday, 8/10/18, 7:30–9:30AM at School for the Creative and Performing Arts

Session: Why Do You Want to Run?
Saturday, 8/11/18, 9:00AM–1:00PM at People's Liberty

October

Field Trip: Board Business Meeting
Wednesday, 9/5/18 or 10/3/18, 11:00AM at CPS Education Center

Panel: How School Boards Make and Influence Policy
Thursday, 10/4/18, 5:00–7:00PM at People's Liberty

Field Trip: Board Business Meeting
Monday, 10/8/18 or 10/22/18, 6:30PM at CPS Education Center

Field Trip: Board Policy Committee Meeting + Debrief
Thursday, 10/18/18, 11:30AM at CPS Education Center

December

Session: District Finances and Budget
Wednesday, 12/5/18, 4:00–6:00PM at People's Liberty

Field trip: Board Finance Committee Meeting + Debrief
Thursday, 12/20/18, 4:00PM at CPS Education Center

February

Session: Participant Presentations + Celebration
Wednesday, 2/6/19, 5:00–7:30 PM at People's Liberty

September

Field Trip: Board Business Meeting
Wednesday, 9/5/18 or 10/3/18, 11:00AM at CPS Education Center

Session: How the Board Gets Its Work Done
Friday, 9/14/18, 4:00–6:30PM at People's Liberty

Session: Leading in a Public Body
Saturday, 9/22/18, 9:00AMº1:00PM at People's Liberty

November

Panel: Introduction to Big Issues in Education
Tuesday, 11/6/18, 5:00–7:00PM at People's Liberty

Field Trip: Student Achievement Committee Meeting + Debrief
Thursday, 11/15/18, 2:30PM at CPS Education Center

Field Trip: School Visits
TBD

January

Panel: What Does Being on the School Board Mean For Your Personal and Professional Life?
Wednesday, 1/9/19, 5:00–7:00PM at People's Liberty

Impact Fair
Thursday, 1/17/19, 5:00 –:00PM at People's Liberty

Session: Articulating Your Personal Vision For Change + How You’ll Get There
Saturday, 1/26/19, 9:00AM–1:00PM at People's Liberty

 
 

“School Board School didn't just teach us how the school board works or how to support Cincinnati Public Schools—it gave us the space and time to reflect on our own values and the impact we hope to contribute.”

–Heather Gerker

 
IMG_7471.JPG