Class Schedule:

Check out the 2018-2019 class schedule below. The 2019-2020 class schedule will be posted before the application period opens so that interested applicants can make sure they’re available for each class before applying. Questions or concerns? Get in touch with us via email.


 

August:

  • Thursday, 8/2/18: Session: Welcome to School Board School / 5–7PM / People's Liberty

  • Friday, 8/10/18: Field Trip: Superintendent’s Beginning of Year Address / 7:30–9:30AM / School for the Creative and Performing Arts

  • Saturday, 8/11/18: Session: Why Do You Want to Run? / 9AM–1PM / People's Liberty

September:

  • Wednesday, 9/5/18 or 10/3/18: Field Trip: Board Business Meeting / 11AM / CPS Education Center

  • Friday, 9/14/18: Session: How the Board Gets Its Work Done / 4PM–6:30PM / People's Liberty

  • Saturday, 9/22/18: Session: Leading in a Public Body / 9AM–1PM / People's Liberty

October:

  • Wednesday, 9/5/18 or 10/3/18: Field Trip: Board Business Meeting / 11AM / CPS Education Center

  • Thursday, 10/4/18: Panel: How School Boards Make and Influence Policy / 5–7PM / People's Liberty

  • Monday, 10/8/18 or 10/22/18: Field Trip: Board Business Meeting / 6:30PM / CPS Education Center

  • Thursday, 10/18/18: Field Trip: Board Policy Committee Meeting + Debrief / 11:30AM /
    CPS Education Center

November:

  • Tuesday, 11/6/18: Panel: Introduction to Big Issues in Education / 5–7PM / People's Liberty

  • Thursday, 11/15/18: Field Trip: Student Achievement Committee Meeting + Debrief / 2:30PM /
    CPS Education Center

  • TBD: Field Trip: School Visits

December:

  • Wednesday, 12/5/18: Session: District Finances and Budget / 4–6PM / People's Liberty

  • Thursday, 12/20/18: Field trip: Board Finance Committee Meeting + Debrief / 4:00PM /
    CPS Education Center

January:

  • Wednesday, 1/9/19: Panel: What Does Being on the School Board Mean For Your Personal and Professional Life? / 5–7PM / People's Liberty

  • Thursday, 1/17/19: Impact Fair / 5–7PM / People's Liberty

  • Saturday, 1/26/19: Session: Articulating Your Personal Vision For Change + How You’ll Get There / 9AM–1PM / People's Liberty

February:

  • Wednesday, 2/6/19: Session: Participant Presentations + Celebration / 5–7:30PM / People's Liberty